Meet the Dragon

2024 on the Chinese Zodiac calendar is the Year of the Dragon. The dragon symbolizes power, good fortune, and strength. Dragon energy is technically a metaphor used in Taoist magic to express an essence of creation or power. I thought this would be the ideal year to launch my line of jewelry and thus named it Dragon Fired Designs.
.
I view my jewelry as giving power to the wearer. When I design jewelry, my main mission is to create a piece that enhances the wearer in some way. Usually they are “statement pieces” suited for women who want to attract attention. I believe that wearing a piece of jewelry can give a boost to one’s personality or state of mind. Thus they can become personal wearable talismans. My pieces hopefully express that magical feeling that helps the wearer transcend the banality of every day life and like the Dragon help you express your intelligence, ambition and charisma.
.
I also see my jewelry as wearable works of art. Some designs are simple, others complex, and some are meant to be “statement pieces” to be worn only by the courageous woman who wants to attract attention. My unique necklaces, pendants and pins are made from a variety of materials, such as old belt buckles, beads, and  “found objects” or pieces of outdated jewelry now upcycled. For me, everything has artistic potential and each item in the current exhibit represents my take on what jewelry means to me and how it can be used to embody the power of the Dragon.

 

Leave a comment