My Digital World

I love working digital because I can create worlds that don’t exist. Therefore, I use Photoshop to not only create digital collages but also to “enhance” my photographs. Photoshop has “filters” which when applied to an image can alter it, morph it, turn it in to something unworldly.
.
I currently have an exhibit at Alonso’s Cafe in Garwood New Jersey (348 North Ave) through November. It is a selection of 4 of my images from my “The Skeletons of Winter” series. I started this series last Winter after going through my tree photographs (I have at least a 100 taken over the last 5 years!). When the trees are bare they remind me of skeletons. I used Photoshop to alter these tree images to tell a story about them.
.
The Lord Shineth On This Earth
.

This is an example of a simple enhancement. I loved the sun being behind the tree so I made it brighter and the trees more stark.
.
Last Dance Before the Storm
.

Here I simply turned the photo to black and white then reversed it. I love this tree and gave it this title because it does like it is dancing, doesn’t it?
.
Tree House
.

Yes, the original photo did have a house behind the tree. So I played around with distorting things until I came up with this weird view of the house and the tree filling the entire foreground with it’s leafless branches. So is it protecting the house? Hiding it? Or menacing it? You decide.
.
Guardian of the Forest
.

This one is one of my digital collages and it speaks to climate change. The warrior woman within the trees is fighting to keep us humans from destroying the forest. I turned most of the branches white to indicate they are frozen.

Leave a comment